Romanticiser, who?

I don’t like the boys who like me
The boys I like don’t like me back,
Like a rubber band they snap
When I ask what’s next.
Don’t know what the man upstairs has in mind for me
One said “A no then I suppose”,
Another said “All I offer is me and all I expect is you”
The boys I liked could speak prose
That meant everything but nothing

Romanticised you in my head
Danced in my mind with you
Saw the mornings we had never sleep over
But you turned out to be a misery
A misery of all dreams

Do I have to slow down
I need to understand
You speak in 10 words what you could in 3
Or you speak nothing at all

Is it me, is it you, is it us
I am a moth to a flame
For people like you.
You were better in my head
where I romanticised you
It meant everything but nothing

*Scribble by Yours Truly.

Leave a comment